Get The Latest Flash Player to view the slideshow.

Cricket Art Prize on hold this year (2013-2014)…

Dear Artists & Poets,

We have not been able to find another benefactor / sponsor to take over from Kevin Maloney.  The arrangement and understanding with Kevin Maloney is that he would provide the prize monies for the Cricket Art Prize / Cricket Poetry Award for the first 3 years and he ended up underwriting it for 4 years – God bless him.  Finding another benefactor to take Kevin Maloney’s place is a bit like panning for gold or mining for diamonds.  The committee and I only want to continue with the Cricket Art Prize when there is sufficient financial support coupled with commensurate support from artists, the media; cricket-connected charities and the cricketing fraternity.  We’ve put 5 years of hard work into this on a shoe-string budget, and at the time of inception, we felt that there would be a ground-swell of support for the Cricket Art Prize from the art-world, the media; cricket-connected charities and the cricketing fraternity, but always found ourselves on the back foot.

So a lack of financial support and interest from the top 100 richest individuals, Corporate Australia, and government agencies means we have to put the Cricket Art Prize on hold this year (2013).

This has been hard for me to write, but at the end of the day, that facts matter and when the numbers don’t add up, it’s better to bow out gracefully.  I want to thank you for your support over the last 4 years and indeed the time you have put into making the Cricket Art Prize / Cricket Poetry Award an great, annual, arts-event.  It has been an experience; an adventure and a delight. Maybe we can be revisit the concept in the future when philanthropic attitudes have changed, the economy is more positive and we know who will be running the country.

Derek Zilich

Latest News

October 3rd, 2012

3 October, 2012 – The Sydney Sixers placed their Twenty20 Champions League aspirations on hold when choosing “The Next Generation” by Margaret Ingles as the inaugural winner of the…

August 30th, 2012


Inside Cricket


Mc Grath Foundation Pointing Foundation